City News

Back to City News

City of Yuma General Election Results - Final

The City of Yuma held its general election Tuesday, Nov. 7, where voters had their opportunity to elect three at-large seats on the City Council.

A total of 7,579 ballots were cast, including:

  • Early ballots.
  • Poll results from all of the 3 voting centers.

Following are the final, unofficial results.


City Council / Votes Cast / Percentage of Ballots Cast

Knight, Gary  3,669  48%

McClendon, Leslie 3,289  43%

Watts, Karen 3,261  43%

Counts, Gregory  3,256  43%

Rosevear, Ken 3,187  42%

Rojas-McNair, Kristina 2,819  37%


Candidates Knight and McClendon appear to have secured seats on the Council.

Regarding the third City Council seat: Candidates Watts and Counts are separated by five votes. This triggers an automatic recount pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes section 16-661. The City will follow the recount procedure in accordance with Arizona law.

Percentages reflect a percentage of the total number of ballots cast, rather than a percentage of the total number of votes cast, because Yuma City Council seats are considered at-large, and each ballot may contain up to three votes for members of the City Council.

Mayor Douglas Nicholls and Presiding Judge James Coil were both re-elected to four-year terms as a result of the Aug. 29 election, having each exceeded 50 percent of the vote.

Votes will become official once canvassed by the Yuma City Council.